Best rollerball refills

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

stonyloam

As I am fairly new to pen turning, I am still in the mostly giving them away phase. As a farmer (formally research scientist) I look for results, and first and foremost a pen must serve its primary function, (even though IMHO mine don't look too bad) and that is to put a proper line on a piece of paper, and do it with the feel of a precision instrument. I would rather have someone say "that is a nice looking pen, and it is the best writing pen that I ever had" then "that is the most beautiful pen, and it writes OK too":biggrin:. Got a classic kit from PSI that came with a Hauser 707 refill, and did not like it at all, did not like the feel and did not like the line. Was able to use a Schneider Topball 850 out of another kit, and really liked that refill, so I bought a bunch for future use. So, that comes to my question what rollerball refills do you think are the best for high quality kits (cost of the refill not a factor). Thanks.

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

alamocdc

Terry, I have found that I get the best results with Pilot G2 and Schmidt 888/5888 refills. The Hausers have always been hit or miss for me. Some work great while others do not. The Private Reserve roller refills were not available when I bought my last batch, but they should be quite good as well. Otherwise, I don't think Ed would carry them. Others may have different experience.

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
The Schmidt 5888 has been a very popular refill, as is their 888. I believe it writes very well.

However, my mind is NEVER closed. If you find a refill you like better, please SAY SO! We are able to purchase most anything, as we have grown to a size that is attractive to manufacturers and wholesalers. So, PLEASE feel free to recommend!!!

Smitty37

Passed Away Mar 29, 2018
In Memoriam