Beginner woods?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Firefyter-emt

Of what I have in the shop that turns very nice... Imbuya, Goncallo Alves & Jacaranda turn nice. Then you have the local maple, walnut that are pretty nice.

Bamboo flooring, now that's a PITA [:D]

DocStram

It might be easier if you asked what to stay away from. In any event, here's my list of beginner wood:
a. any blanks that are free
b. any blanks that look boring and lack figure

After you get some practice turning blanks, I would say Cocobolo or Bocote. Easy to turn, in my opinion, and they will get you really excited about turning more.

jedgerton

I'm fairly new to this hobby so my skills only allow me to work with friendly wood. Here are some that I find really nice:

1. Olive (my favorite is Bethlehem Olive Wood).
2. Cocobolo
3. Bocote
4. Bloodwood

Some difficult woods for me so far are:

1. Palm (frays easily)
2. Dymondwood or any plywood

Thats my 2 cents.

I agree mostly with Al.. I'm not fond of cocobolo.. I Like bocote,
I practiced on whatever I could pick up... turned a lot of my mesquite grill wood, I cut a pecan out of my back yard and turned that, anything that give you practice is a good wood. Olive is a dream to turn... any olive is good, BOW is fantastic,
and I like the Dymondwoods... tends to be very dry and brittle, lots of dust.

DCBluesman

Passed Away Mar 3, 2016
In Memoriam
Fairly easy:
1. Maple
2. Eastern cedar
3. Walnut
4. Mesquite
5. Desert Ironwood
6. Osage orange
7. Anything stabilized
8. Cocobolo
9. Olive wood
10. Bloodwood

Avoid for awhile
1. Palms
2. unstabilized burls

chisel

A word of caution on a few of the suggested woods.

Cocobolo...some people are very allergic to it.

Walnut...is beautiful wood, and easy to turn...but it is an open grain wood, so some filling of open grain may be needed.

1 Curly Maple
2 Bloodwood
3 Olivewood
4 Yellowheart
5 Purpleheart