Beautiful pen yet poor writing!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

outfitter

Hey guys, I have been making pens for a few years and always love to try new styles. Recently I have moved away from rollerball and fountain pens to try a few ballpoints. The last 2 styles I made were Atrax and Cigar.

My turning skills are continuing to improve and the pens look beautiful, but my big issue is with the annoying click of the ballpoint ink against the nib of the pen. It makes a beautiful finished product feel cheap and annoying to write with! The ink casing is smaller than the nib opening and every time i pick up the pen from the paper and replace you hear the "click" of metal on metal. It feels like there is a little "slop" in the nib end of the pen.:at-wits-end:

Has anyone noticed this before and does anyone have a recommendation to take the "slop" out of the pen? Thanks!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

chriselle

YES!! I've been ranting about this for years. About 80% of the Sierras I make have this issue. I order from many sources and it really seems to make no difference. I think it really depends on your writing style as to whether you notice the slop or not. Due to the nature of stroke-lift-stroke in writing Japanese ...ALL of my customers comment on the "click". I've tried every kind of replacement ink but the issue is never remedied.
Really annoying...!!

76winger

I've noticed it most on the Polaris pens, which I made a lot of early on. I haven't really noticed it on Cigars, but I haven't wrote with many either. Executives and Gatsbys, as I recall were quieter than the Polaris, and I haven't noticed it as much on Sierra Elegant Beauties either.

outfitter

Well, unfortunately I am not the only one who notices this! It kills me to say this, but I don't see myself making anymore ballpoints. I want my pens to be precision writing devices that hold up to not only the eye test, but the use test also.

Smitty37

Passed Away Mar 29, 2018
In Memoriam
Hmmmm