Barrel Trimming Sleeves

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

kevrob

This might seem like a silly question to some of you who have been turning for a long time..maybe even a stupid question, but I am going to ask it anyway. Being a relative newbie, I am baffled by this...

When I started turning earlier this year, I purchased a barrel trimming kit to square up the ends with the tubes. No problems, been working great. However, I have branched out and started turning a few new types of pens (to me at least) and have started working with the Tycoon series from Penn State. However, the barrel trimming sleeves do not fit on any of the barrel trimmers. I assume I am supposed to use the smallest barrel, which I believe is my 7 MM, and it would then slide into the sleeve - but the barrel will not fit inside the sleeve. Did I miss something obvious? Any suggestions?

Signed,

Kevin (AKA: Stumped in Manhattan, KS)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

turbowagon

All barrel trimming sleeves I've seen are designed to fit a 7mm pilot. Are you sure you're using a 7mm pilot and not an 8mm pilot?

ToddMR

I have used those exact barrel trimmer sleeves. It does go over the 7mm pilot shaft. I use mine I got from PSI when I do Navigator kits as well.

OKLAHOMAN

If I'm understanding you correctly you switch to the smallest pilot the 7MM and the sleeve won't fit into your barrel/ brass tube? Have you cleaned the inside of the brass tube out of any excess glue that might have gotten into it, has the brass tube been disfigured in any way?

ToddMR

If you are using the 7mm shaft and it wont go in the sleeve make sure the shaft is clean of dried glue etc.

monophoto