barrel trimmer question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Djlinder

I'm new to pen turning and wanted to know if it is possible to put a 7mm barrle trimmer into a drill press to square blanks. Any tips are greatly appreciated plus i don't have a chuck to attach to my lathe.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Boz

When I was using a barrel trimmer on a drill press I would always hold the blank with a pair of vice grips. The trimmer will put more torque on the blanks than you can hold onto with your fingers.

sbwertz

I usually hold them in my hands while using my 19 V Craftsman drill. The issue I have is to keep the blades sharp and there are tutorials on this in our Library.

Do you know what folder the tutorial on sharpening barrel trimmers is located in?

switch62

Yep. I have a small bench drill press. Slip the blank onto the barrel trimmer without contacting the blades. Turn on and hold the blank with both hands, using thumb and index finger. Push up and trim. If the blank starts to catch, just let go.

If your barrel trimmer is sharp then you shouldn't need to push very hard.

I never use my whole hand (in a fist) to hold the blank as the top of your hand can contact the blades or drill press, and the bottom of your hand can contact the shaft poking out of the bottom of the blank. Not good either way.

As for sharpening, I use a fine diamond sharpener on the vertical faces by hand. Push the sharpener flat against the vertical face and sharpen upwards (trimmer blades facing up, no shaft inserted). Never try to sharpen the top faces by hand. It is very hard to get the correct angle on those faces and keep all the blade edges the same height.
(Same as the library article referenced by Rick, :redface: oops)

Tony O

Last edited:

wouldentu2?

I use a drill and wood vise opened slightly larger than the blank. Across the bottom of the vise is a piece of wood narrower than the blank.