Baron TiGold Plating Issue

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

DWulf

Hello all! I'm fairly new to penturning (and woodworking in general). I made two Barons for my dad for Christmas, one of which was a Titanium Gold Baron. Up until the last week and a half, he had just used it in his office. He then took the pen traveling with him. I gave him one of the executive leather pouches (from Exotic Blanks) to carry the pen in. He got back a few days ago, and the plating has worn off all along the edges of the clip and the edge of the end cap (I couldn't get a good picture of the end cap). I have more kits so it should be simple to just swap the parts out, but I'm concerned about this happening again. I thought the TiGold plating was supposed to be quite durable, and I certainly wouldn't say that this pen has had much in the way of hard usage at this point. Has anybody else experienced this?

Apologies for the poor picture quality - all I had at hand was my camera phone.

Thanks!
Sarah

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

its_virgil

Welcome Sarah. This issue is definitely not one that you should have with a titanium gold baron. I would contact the company where the pen kits were purchased and make a complaint. Good luck.
Do a good turn daily!
Don

DWulf

Thanks for the reply, Don! The kits are from Exotics, so I know Ed and Dawn will take care of me - they have such awesome customer service. I'll drop them a line tomorrow. Hopefully it's just the one defective kit - I made the same pen for my brother a month before Christmas and he said the plating on his is fine, and it's seen much more use.

DSurette

I'm wondering if there may have been something in the pouch that may have reacted with the metal. Maybe some chemical from the tanning process.

Charlie_W

I have seen tools or metal objects stored in the vicinity of pool chemicals (chlorine tabs) rust..big time! :eek:
Not saying that is the case here but just putting that caution out there.

Smitty37