Bamboo Pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

jenamison

200551711917_Pens%2011647%20pt2.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jenamison

This is my first attempt at a bamboo pen. I bought a bamboo place mat from Pier One Imports for $3. Enough to make about 15 to 20 slimlines. Color scheme turned out kinda interesting don't ya think?

--Mike

dubdrvrkev

Nice pen.
I have bamboo growing in my yard and have been eyeing it lately thinking, "I wonder if I can turn some of that?" Maybe I'll have to give it a try.

jenamison

Thanks, Lou. My wife told me to put it on and see what people had to say. I tell you what, that may be the cheapest pen blanks I've ever be able to buy. I also got some that may fit on larger pens like a Gentleman's. We'll see.

Mike

jenamison

HAHA...well becccaaauuussseeeeeeeee....my wife actually started the posting on here. I guess she got lonely with me outside in the shop turning all the time and found all you GUYS[8D][8D] to keep her company...Thanks by the way, but I can pull off a pretty convincing woman act. If you don't believe me just call my fire station one day!!

Mike[:D]

jenamison

Its extremely soft..don't let your hand slip on these or you'll be drilling a new blank. Yea I did have to drill some of the mostly hollow center. It's even more pronouced when you start sanding. Very soft when working it, but holds a nice finish so far and feels really tough in the hand.

Mike

jenamison

Thanks Tom...BTW if you are still reading this post, I emailed you the other day about your twist pen and first wanted to thankyou again for all the information, and second I turned my first one the other day....WOW...thats hard on the fingers and wrist, its gonna take a lot of work but if interested its in my pictures. Again thanks.

Mike

JimGo