Apple Wood

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

jimship15

Is apple worth cutting into blanks to turn or is best put in a smoker?

I just cut a couple that were in the way and one was half dead/rotted. I saved a few firewood size logs and the rest went on the burn pile.

If it is worth cutting up what should I do with it for now?
How long should it dry before cutting?

Thanks,
Jim

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Firefyter-emt

The heart wood can be pretty cool, but it's a wet wood that likes to crack and move so bear that in mind. Try to get some heartwood banks and the rest is rather bland. Bowls can be cool, but hard to dry without cracking. I have a few drying right now that I have not taken a peek at in a couple months!~

KP

I love apple, especially the heart/sap contrast. I think it makes for a great pen, if you can get both in your blank. Apple also ages well, gets a real nice patina with use. First pen I made (I'm a hobbyist, so I've only made a couple dozen) was apple, it's my desk pen, daily use for a couple years now. Has a nice polished look from use, and feels nice in the hand.

Cracks like crazy as it dries in the log, but I've not had problems with blanks cracking, at least for the dozen or so I've got sitting in my blank box.

Ken

Hey Jim,
here is a picture of a little Apple pen I sent to Aussie Chick for a pen swap on TPS.. it's from a little piece I got from a fellow woodturner over in NC.. I think the wood is pretty impressive.

20074232824_SL-WG-APPL.jpg
<br />

This is cross cut.. picture isn't the best but you can see the wood.

BTW, the wood is equally great in the smoker.

workinforwood