Any advice on canarywood?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
M

monkeynutz

Need to make a couple dozen pens from the same wood, and have my eye on a beautiful canarywood board in my local WC. It's got great color and figure, and I could probably get 100 angle-cut blanks from this piece, so I'll be working with it a lot. :D

I have no experience with this wood, though, so I'd like some guidance from those who have. How well does it work, sand and finish? Does it tend to "squirm" after it's cut? Thanks for any help.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bobskio2003

I've turned a couple of platters out of Canarywood (and probably a pen or two). I don't remember it really giving me any grief. I'm not sure how it will do on an angle cut however. If my memory serves me right (which happens on rare occasions) canarywood is fairly splintery - meaning that there are lots of fine splinters when you cut it. I'd be afraid that these splinters would pull out as you were trying to turn a pen. But that's only my opinion. Bob I.

I've turned a couple of pens and keyrings from it. Also made knife scales.
I don't remember any particular problems with the wood.
BYW, Bloodwood makes a terrific accent for canarywood

M

monkeynutz

Originally posted by rincewind03060

BTW, Bloodwood makes a terrific accent for canarywood
Excellent suggestion! I may try center bands with it, or maybe lam a slice at each end of the blanks... Thanks for the tip!

JohnLifer

I've made probably a dozen from a board I have. The comment about splintery is good. The board I have is very soft. Doesn't drill well, Not much harder than fir in my opinion. I'll make something else out of the remainder of my board, it won't be pens.
(It is pretty though).

arioux

Hi,

I recommand the use of sanding sealer, to pop your grain and avoid small voids that traps sanding dust. Or use a good blow of compressed air before finishing.