Another Noob w/ Questions

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jimbob91577

So I'm relatively new to the Pen Turner's forum, but I have been turning slimline pens (about 20 total) for friends and family for about 18 months.

I'm interested in learning CA finishes and Mandrell-less turning.

I have read an article on the BLO/CA finish method, but from browsing some posts understand that there is a (arguably?) better method? Does anyone have a link to an article describing this?

I also would like some information on how to get started turning pens w/o a mandrell. From what I have read on this forum, it is easier, more reliable, and produces better results.

Thank you!
Jim

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

byounghusband

Jim,
Welcome to the Forum and the sickness we lovingly call Pen Turning!! Are you looking for a better CA/BLO method, or a better process using different materials?

I use CA/BLO for my pens and it is the one I learned from Don Ward. It is in the Library. I don't follow it EXACTLY, but you will find that many of us have a slightly different twist to our methods.... I recommend trying what Don and others have come up with and then modify it to your own tastes for what works for you..... Not to take away from other's methods that are out there, but Don's works for me and if it ain't broke, I don't fix it....:wink:

Daniel

Jim, the best CA method is very much like asking someone what is the best color. so much involves your taste, your expectations, and what works for you.