Another Drilling Question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

dweir

Okay, Smack me, I am a Noob:D.

I am having an annoying problem drilling blanks. Seems that the bit likes to "Squeal like a stuck pig". I have a new, sharp, brad-point bit (7mm from Penn State) and no matter what type of wood I am drilling, this hideous squeal comes about midway though the blank. It is so loud, I have to use Hearing Protectors and my dogs run and hide.:) Any suggestions to quiet this? I am running at a fairly low speed, about 900-1000 rpm. I tried a little Empire (top saver) lube on the bit, It helped a little, but not much. Would parafin (candle wax) help? I have tried other speeds on the drill press, but it makes no difference. Runout is minimal, the bit is square to the table. All other alignments are in spec.

Thanks,
Dave

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

dweir

Oh, I forgot.
I have tried other bits, 135 standard, brad point, other manufacturers, etc., but still have the problem with end grain on blanks.

IPD_Mrs

You can try soap or wax on the bit. From personal experience two things happen when you get squeal. One the inside of your blank is heating up and for a lack of a better word it is brazing the inside. The sides of the bit spin against this and create your squeal. Generally you won't hear the squeal until you are at least 1/3rd of the way in the blank. Typically we drill at about 540rmp.

You can also have this problem if your bit is not true. This is one of the reasons I hate cheap bits. I have gotten more warped bits than I care to count over the years.

Mike

dweir