Americana pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

elody21

I have been making pens for many years Lately I was trying to use up a lot of older sets. I have been working on American flat top pens and seem to be having some trouble. The ink refills don't seem fit in the pen. They are too tight. I tried using sandpaper on the edges and they finally fit. Then when I put the transmission on the end and press it into the top it is too big!

Being too big is not a result of the sanding, remember after the refill goes in the bottom the transmission is then screwed onto the bottom insert.

I can't seem to win. Any ideas? I am to the point where I feel like just tossing them! should I try to get new transmissions,new refills, or just toss them?!
Alice

OLDMAN5050

Passed Away May 15, 2019
In Memoriam
american pen

I turn a lot of these. I don't quite understand whaat you are saying, If I understand the problem is the mandrel may be bent I always turn the peices one at a time. and stay well in the size of the bushing, a lot of the refills are a bit oversized and I find if I can clean out the adapter that the transmission screws on with emory cloth that takes care of the problem hope that I have helped. I would be willing to swap some blanks for the kits, let me know?

elody21

Thanks for your help,
I thought about the problem and I think it is several things. First I have been using a 8mm drill bit and having trouble with the blank cracking. Maybe if I use a 21/64 it would give the tube more of a chance to expand.
I did not mentions that problem before.