American Flat Top - Grrrr

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

DurocShark

Anybody had the same problems I'm having with the newest Flattop kit? I got a chrome/satin kit from Woodcraft.

First I screwed up the nib. While pressing the two pieces together it kinked and jacked the upper half. (Why can't these be threaded?)

Then after using another kit I found the transmissions don't fit the upper tube. Too sloppy. Had to build up some epoxy on it to get it to function.

Am I the only one who's really unhappy with this kit? I've never done them before, but my daughter picked the kit out for her teacher. Sigh.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Sorry. I make a lot of these and never had that particular problem. The small problem that I always have is putting the center band on the upper blank. I usually grind or file the tennon, brass tube, a little so the center band fits. Then I have to "bend" or ream it our a little so the bottom half goes in. I just figure on that kind of thing. Its an inconvenience, but I have had bigger problems than that with other kits.

DurocShark

Interesting. I had the same experience with the CB, but I just mounted the upper tube between centers and filed the tube until it was a snug fit but didn't compress. A dab of threadlock and it's solid.

The nib is IMHO a stupid design. But the transmission not being even close to snug in the tube was what really got me. I couldn't get enough friction to extend the refill.

Just a thought, Is the top half to short? I know from experience that the top half is a little fussy that way. The bottom needs to go in past the lower fitting. If its a little short it doesn't get enough friction. Let me know how you come out.
The things ya don't learn on this show huh?

DurocShark

I have two, on neither did I cut into the brass tube. The bottom goes all the way in, with the cb comfortably covering the coupler.