After Slimlines, what next to try?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Old Bessie

Passed Away Sep 13, 2016
In Memoriam
I am very new at Pen turning. I have only used slimline kits. They are coming out decent. I would like to try a different style pen but am limited as to cash to buy the bits and bushings. So I'm kind of snookered.

What would be the most universal drill size and bushings to attempt a different style pen? or pens? I do have an ok drill index but lack the metric sizes.

I am not a cheapskate, rather in a financial state that limits my "luxury/entertainment" budget.

Any solid input from this forum would be greatly appreciated.

If this is in the wrong place, please forgive my ignorance.

And thank you to everyone for all of your wonderful input throughout this site--you make a difference!

Attachments

• IMG_1359edit.jpg
    IMG_1359edit.jpg
    188.8 KB · Views: 311
Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Ed McDonnell

Here's an idea. Keep working with the slimline kits. Check the archives for the last couple of Bash / Summer Extravaganza slimline contests where the pens were modified (e.g. the russ fairfield competition and such). There's a lot you can do with slimlines to really expand your pen making without spending a lot of money.

Then you could see if you can sell some of your pens. Selling slimlines for $20 isn't going to make you rich, but it will give you cash for new tools and kits.

As a next step up from slims, you could try sierra style pens (for ballpoint) or something like a Virage (roller ball). They both can be made with imperial drill bits that you might already have in your drill index. The kits will cost you more than slimlines, but less than the profit on a $20 slimline you sell.

Just one of many ways to try.

Ed

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Will,
It depends on what you would like to make!!