Advise for a newbie please

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

alexkuzn

Hi Guys,

what kits do you recommend for begginers? From reading this forum I guess it's probably "slim pen" style. But there are many suppliers with many kits in different price ranges. I am having hard time choosing one. Desicion paralisys :confused:
It's also hard to judge about quality of these kits from pictures.

Can anyone recommend me any specific good quality kits and a link where I can get them.

Thanks,
Alex

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ldb2000

It all depends on your experience . If you are a total newbie start with 24k gold slimlines to save money (in case you mess a few up , it won't cost very much) . As you get better switch to the gold Ti or platinum kits which the platings will hold up much better .
You could also do Cigar kits which are much more forgiving (there is allot of wood left on the tube after they are turned) again start with the 24k kits to save money at first then switch to the better platings .
www.woodpenpro.com has some of the best prices around and they ship very fast .

hughbie

it seems that most people start with the slimlines....i did.....and i believe that's because of the cost.......like butch said......at less than $2 a kit.......you can screw it up (translated.....learn) several and it not hurt the wallet

leehljp

Member Liaison
The cost of slimlines are such that most people start with it. However, slimlines are among the hardest to make great. A Sierra type, and patriot/Carbara are easier, IMO.

The slimlines are hard because most people want to match the top and bottom and make smooth straight lines. Very hard for most beginners. Smooth Straight lines are usually the most difficult cut.