Acrylics ??

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

avbill

I believe another member asked the question and little was answered and I can't find the thought.

I'm a bab in turning experience maybe 30 to 40 pens. I also have about 20 blow outs also. :( I dont know if should brag about that fact with this group. [:I]

I'm still learning the CA/BLO finish also. I switched over to acrlic until I like the finish of the CA.

So heres the questions: There seems to be differences in quality of acrylics blanks. Some are very hard and are very brittle then placed on the lathe to turn. Others tend to be softer yet harden enough and easier to turn. What are your thoughts in the differences placed into the marketplace by our suppliers.

Yes, we start with sharp tools. And take small cuts ! Yes I sand to 12,000 grit mm and then buff with a micro polish.

1. Is Acrylic acetate (AA) easy to turn? What do you have watch for? 2. Is there differences between different suppliers? What are they?
3. How different is a polygem to an acrylic acetate or even the celluloid blanks ?
4. Am I assuming correctly that ones true-stone blank is equal to another acrylic-gem? Difficult to turn? What to watch for?
5. Is a celluloid more difficult to turn than a AA blank ?
6. If I forgot a question that needs to be address ad it in please.

Are there any additional tips in turning acrylic blanks that I might run into as a starter in the acrylic arena.

Many thanks your your thoughts
bill Daniels

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

alphageek

Former Moderator
First off, I will not put myself as an expert, but someone who has been through a bit too.
I find that most acrylics aren't too bad - acrylister (spelling?) is the most brittle that I've found. AA, PR, celluliod all turn nicer for me.

I've turned my first tru-stone recently.. Not much worse than acrylic - but not all tru-stone are equal. There is a seller here with tru-stone and he lists very nicely which are harder to turn.