Acrylic questions

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

QuiltinMom

I am new to pen turning and have turned a couple of pieces of acrylic and I have some questions.

I have seen some drill bits for acrylic. Does anyone use these and are they necessary? Is there a better success rate of drilling the blanks if you use these?

Also, what do you use to sand and finish the acrylic? I purchased a plastic sanding kit with 3 different sanding pads in it and some polish. Is this what is recommended or is there a better option?

I am struggling getting the acrylic real smooth. It seems to still have sanding marks in it after a lot of effort. I turned a secret compartment key chain and tried putting some beads on it. I had trouble getting down in between the beads to sand it without leaving unwanted marks.

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated. I am so intrigued with acrylic that we have ordered supplies to try and pour some of our own. Can't wait for all of the goodies to arrive and give it a try. :)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Usings a nagative rake scraper might help with the surface problems, a plain drill bit will work fine, using a bradpoint bit is asking for trouble IMO. I always wet sand on plastics around 500-700 rpms, then use polish. Standard automotive headlight polish works really well.

Just my .02

Levi Woodard
Sent from my Galaxy tab 3 using Forum Runner

Akula

Don't skip any grade of sandpaper...let the paper do the work..ie, don't press hard and keep it moving so you don't build up heat

I start at 400 go up to 600, then MM and polish using white diamond on a buffing wheel. The cleaner your cuts the higher grade you can start.

Lot of different ways, test them out until you find what you like best. Many don't like the sanding but I do and have no problem spending more time. I find it relaxing LOL

avbill

If you are seeing sanding marks Go back and resand: Don't skip any grade of sandpaper..