Absolute Beginner - What do I need?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Bubba Dan

I just bought a Jet Mini Lathe, 8" grinder, and some chisels about 2 weeks ago. I've been playing around with spindle turning since then but I really want to try some pens.

I'm a little confused as to what I 'need' to get started. Some things I know I will need are a mandrel, bushings, and some pen kits. From tutorials other things are mentioned (CA glue, trimming tool, etc.) that probably also be needed.

I'm looking for advice on what are the bare bones most basic stuff I need to get started. I'm work on a budget and like to add tools and supplies as I see needed.

Also, searching for this the different supplies and pen sizes/types leaves me a little confused. Is the PSI Basic Starter Set a good affordble way to go? Does anybody besides PSI sell a "starter kit" that contains everything you need?

Thanks from a newbie,
Dan

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

fhinde

Bubba, welcome aboard. If you will contact any of the major vendors they will put a package together tailored for what you need. Try the following as a start, all are outstanding vendors and very helpful!

http://pocwoodworking.com/

http://www.arizonasilhouette.com/

http://www.woodturningz.com/Main.aspx

If you call them, they will give you the help you need to get started.

Scott

I have bought stuff from each of the vendors Fred mentions above, and they are all great! If you choose to order from Arizona Silhouette, get one of his penturning videos! It is an excellent video, and will really jumpstart your penturning!

Another great video is from our own Russ Fairfield (http://www.woodturner-russ.com/). And his website is great as well!

Good Luck!

Scott.

Old Griz

Passed Away Oct 4, 2013
In Memoriam
One other suggestion... just about everyone starts with slimlines.... I did...