60 degree tailcenter runout

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

hotwire55

Hey Guys,

I recently purchased a 60 degree live tailcenter from a pen supplier and the runout on this unit checked with my indicator is .003 for a total runout of .006. Is it acceptable when turning your blanks on a mandrel to run this tailstock against the mandrel? Can I expect acceptable results with this kind of wobble on the end of my mandrel? Oh, my #1 headstock shows zero runout, but, I am showing a wobble at the end of my mandrel near the tailstock. I am turning slimlines and comfort styles to start out. Do I need to try another method of turning my pens to assure more accuracy in the finished product? I'm new at turning and don't wont to start off doing things the wrong way. hotwire55

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

plantman

Hey Guys,

I recently purchased a 60 degree live tailcenter from a pen supplier and the runout on this unit checked with my indicator is .003 for a total runout of .006. Is it acceptable when turning your blanks on a mandrel to run this tailstock against the mandrel? Can I expect acceptable results with this kind of wobble on the end of my mandrel? Oh, my #1 headstock shows zero runout, but, I am showing a wobble at the end of my mandrel near the tailstock. I am turning slimlines and comfort styles to start out. Do I need to try another method of turning my pens to assure more accuracy in the finished product? I'm new at turning and don't wont to start off doing things the wrong way. hotwire55