5/8" vs 3/4"

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jbg230

As a newbie, I thought that 3/4" pen blanks were the "standard" size. But I noticed today looking at a vendor's site that they offer the same blank in both 5/8" and 3/4" and naturally sell the 5/8 blank for a little less money.
I'm not sure of the stats, but I would think that most pen kit barrels (or at least a significant percentage) are small enough for a 5/8" blank.
So I'm wondering if the extra thickness of the 3/4" blank is really just for stability when drilling or if I can save a few bucks by ordering 5/8" blanks.
I guess I'm asking, where should the cut off be in terms of barrel size when using a 5/8" blank?
Thanks for your help.
Jake

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

RobS

3/4 if for 10mm brass tube blanks like the cubans

5/8 works well for slimline and other 7mm tube kits.

magpens

Stability during drilling is the main reason for going with 3/4", I believe.

You can get by with 5/8" in many cases, but your drilling skills and equipment are then more critical as ed4copies said above.

I very carefully round my blanks between centers (accurately measured and marked on the ends). . And then I drill my blanks on the lathe with the blank in the headstock chuck ... the blank has been previously cut to just a shade over the required length.

Without you saying so, I suspect you are getting the blanks from PSI. . Problem I found is that their blanks are often undersized from the stated size. . If you get undersized 5/8" blanks, you don't have much tolerance.

If you are really careful, you can get by with 1/2" blanks for slimlines.

Last edited:

jbg230