.30 cal. Bolt Action

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Bubba57

I'm new to turning, pen turning, and IAP.
Began last month and so far have made some Slimlines but this weekend I'll be making a 30 cal Bolt Action kit as a gift for a friend that was just promoted to Captain on the Florida Wildlife Commission. Any SNAFUs that I should be aware of in turning/assembling this kit?
Thanks in advance.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rossvh

Welcome to IAP and pen turning! I agree with Keith. I've done over 100 of these pens (very popular) and they are solid and easy to assemble, but be careful -once you've pressed the blank in it is difficult (though not impossible) to undo.

Also agree that a bulge distracts from the looks of the pen. Just not necessary (my opinion). :)

Finally, you will find this site to be extremely helpful. Use it whenever you have a question. These guys and gals know what they're talking about.

Ross

Dan Masshardt

Pretty easy kits but a couple comments.

One - tube length is very important on these. Don't over trim your blank or your ink will stick out too far.

2- I always reverse the bolt / move the clip location. But this is only appearance related really.

Quality Pen

Just yesterday I tried to disassemble the first bolt action pen -- bad idea.

Basically, from looking at it, once its together it is together unless you want to break/discard certain parts. I'm sure there is a technique to take it apart, but as a fellow newbie, my best advice is put it together once with the intention of leaving it together forever!

WriteON