220V extension cord?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

darbytee

My wonderful wife got me a new 18" Rikon bandsaw for Christmas. Here's the problem. I'm in a rental house right now since we're only at this base for about a year. The only 220V outlet is for the dryer, which happens to be situated next to the garage. My initial thought was to make a 220v extension cord and use the dryer outlet to power the bandsaw. The concern is 1)that there would be no surge protection on the extension and 2)that the bandsaw uses much less amperage than the dryer. That being said, I have very little electrical knowledge (obviously). Could someone set me straight before I start an electrical fire? :D

My other option is to talk to the landlord about having a 220v outlet put in the garage, but I don't really want to deal with that cost unless it is absolutely necessary.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

TheHeretic

The cord would not be a problem providing that it is of acceptable type and sizing. YOu would however find that the dryer plug probably wont match up with the plug on the Rikon. Surge protection is really not an issue unless you live in lighting prone or poor utility service areas. The best bet is to simply unplug at the end of the day.

The biggest negative is that the dryer plug is probably 220v 3 wire. (2 hots, 1 Grnd/Neutral) I am not familiar with the Rikon but many 220v appliances need 220v 4 wire (2 hots, 1 neutral, 1 ground)) I think that you will find the expense to put in a 220v plug in the garage isnt that bad.

Dean
Columbus OH

G

How many feet are we talking here?
Why not get some 10/2 with ground Extesion cord.
Cut the ends off and buy a plug that matches teh receptacle.
Take the OEM wire off the bandsaw and save for future use.
Rewire the bandsaw with the other end of the extension cord.
You could probably get by with 12/2 wire since the amperage is cut in half per leg.
It all depends on the length you need.