1st. dumb question from a noob

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mikeinco

I'm brand new to the world of pen turning and have the first of probably many questions. Here goes, I've been doing a lot of reading about drilling blanks and the question is this if you put a chuck into the tailstock to hold a drill bit and the head stock with a chuck to hold the blank, what stops the tailstock chuck from rotating when engaged with the spinning blank? Thanks.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rockytime

Hi Mike,
The blank in the headstock does the spinning. The drill chuck in the tailstock is prevented from turning by virtue of the morse taper gripping the female taper securely in the tailstock.

Charlie_W

Check out Exotic Blanks website. Scroll down and you will find " How To" videos. Number 1 addresses drilling a blank.

Answer: The morse taper on the drill chuck seated in the tailstock will usually prevent the drill chuck from spinning while drilling, BUT, you must hold the drill chuck with your hand so it will not come out of the tailstock when you withdraw the bit from the blank. Damage to your lathe and you can occur.

navycop

So the top part of this (end with drill bit) will not turn while in the tailstock? Also welcome to IAP mikeinco.

Attachments

• DRILL CHUCK.jpg
    DRILL CHUCK.jpg
    2.1 KB · Views: 577
Last edited:

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
So the top part of this (end with drill bit) will not turn while in the tailstock? Also welcome to IAP mikeinco.

Yes, it WILL turn if it doesn't seat completely or if the blank "grabs".
SO, keep your left hand on it, while your right hand turns the handle of the tailstock, advancing the quill. CONTINUE TO HOLD as you pull the bit OUT of the blank.

sbell111

The top part of the drill chuck does not turn in relation to the morse taper. If you think about it, the one in your drill press doesn't, either.

WriteON

Yes, it WILL turn if it doesn't seat completely or if the blank "grabs".