Wine Cork

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Jgrden

Jgrden

Here is a pen made from a used wine bottle cork. Stags Leap.

Pens - 12-28-10 Stags Leap Wine Cork.jpg

Pens - Stages Leap Wine Cork - BAckside.jpg

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ctubbs

That is great! Not at all what I expected from the title, but way cool anyway. From my experience, cork drilling can be iffy at best. It looks like you have it down pretty well pat. Congratulations on a very nice pen.
Charles

Knucklefish

Wow, that's soooooo cool. I gotta try this but since I am fairly new to this sport I gotta know..... Did you "prep" the cork somehow? Can you just drill it as is or did you have to stabilize it somehow prior to drilling? Also, is it the original diamater as it came out of the bottle? Thanks and nice work!
John

Jgrden

Wow, that's soooooo cool. I gotta try this but since I am fairly new to this sport I gotta know..... Did you "prep" the cork somehow? Can you just drill it as is or did you have to stabilize it somehow prior to drilling? Also, is it the original diamater as it came out of the bottle? Thanks and nice work!
John
John:
No prep work, just drilled it out with a 16 mm brad bit at high speed. The hard part is cutting a sliver out and fastening it to the tube.

wood-of-1kind

No prep work, just drilled it out with a 16 mm brad bit at high speed. The hard part is cutting a sliver out and fastening it to the tube.[/QUOTE]

I am assuming that you mean a 10mm bit to drill a 'cigar' tube? Very nice design with the cork top.

Jgrden

No prep work, just drilled it out with a 16 mm brad bit at high speed. The hard part is cutting a sliver out and fastening it to the tube.

I am assuming that you mean a 10mm bit to drill a 'cigar' tube? Very nice design with the cork top.[/quote]