Wenge on a Summit kit

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Earl_J13

Earl_J13

I think this is my 5th pen. I feel like I'm getting better. Now I know why people make pens for 20-30 years and never get tired of it. It's addicting and I'm just scratching the surface.

Any feedback or constructive criticism is welcome, tho it's probably hard to see details.

image.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

qquake

Great looking pen! Yes, it is addicting. I've been turning pens for 17 years now. Sometimes I go away from it for a while, but I always come back. There are many, many more kits available now than when I first started. That makes it fun and keeps it fresh.

jttheclockman

Very nice looking pen. Have to say though that does not look like Wenge that I am used to. I have a bunch of it in my shop right now and it is a lot darker in color and that is how I remember ever seeing it. Always hard to tell a species of wood from a pen size. That wood loves to splinter and if you get one in a finger it will fester right away. Need to be careful.

http://www.wood-database.com/wp-content/uploads/wenge.jpg

Last edited:

bpgoldo

Terrific work. Real nice shape. Very artfully done. Now....build on that and do more !

Earl - I like the pen - a lot. Looks to me as if you did a super job of pairing pen style to the material, which is often an issue. Not here. And it looks to me also that you are ahead of the curve in turning and finishing. Pretty darn nice for your 5th pen!

Constructive criticism: 1-looks as if the pen body is too large where it meets the tip. On this pen there should be a smooth transition. Looks as if there's a ridge. The pic wasn't definitive so if I'm wrong, sorry. 2-when you're doing a 2 part pen, line up the grain so it's "uninterrupted" from upper to lower when the refill is retracted. I really like where you placed the clip, but the grain just doesn't seem to match.

Keep up the good work. I'm thinking we'll be seeing more from you here!