Version 2 30 degree Herringbone

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from vick

Status
Not open for further replies.

vick

Just finished this one same 30 degree Heringbone pattern as the other but I used different woods to show the segments better. I took a different aproach on the CB as a test and I am pretty happy with it. Woods are Morado, Jatoba and Gonca Alves the kit is a CSU Americana Rolerball (snap cap). To give you an idea how much I like this if it was not for 2 small imperfections I would have sent this as my PMG submission. Oh well their is always a next pen.

20062772529_3wood30degree2.jpg

20062772517_3wood30degreeOpen2.jpg

As always commetns and critiques are appreciated

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Darley

Mike it look good and isa great pen, beside the white ring on the CB ( is that your imperfection? I learn not to make any 90* angle when finishing with MM ) what kind of glue did you use for the laminating?

angboy

I'm no expert on gluing up your own blanks and making patterns like this, but I have to say I am impressed with the curved pattern! I would think that that would be a lot harder than patterns that have straight lines- hope I'm explaining this clearly. Anyway, I like it a lot!

gerryr

Great looking pen, Mike. The first one was also very nice, but harder to see how the segments went together, now it makes sense. I really like the CB, very nice effect.

Angela, look at the picture carefully. The curved lines are an artifact of turning the wood round. The cuts were all straight.

vick

Originally posted by Darley
<br />Mike it look good and isa great pen, beside the white ring on the CB ( is that your imperfection? I learn not to make any 90* angle when finishing with MM ) what kind of glue did you use for the laminating?