US Navy Pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from woodgraver

woodgraver

I have been doing inlay pens for a couple of years now, but a former shipmate asked me to make him a pen using real insignia and warfare pins. I found some tie tacks that fit the bill, sanded them down, pounded them round, and used some PR from a year old can I had...really surprised it turned out so well. I used blue silicon plugs in the ends of the tubes and the silicone melted a little and mixed with the resin at the ends of the tube. I used a couple of pieces of dyed black wood to cover my mistake. Oh, the tube...he wanted Dr. Pepper red for some reason. I used an Avery label coated with CA glue. The insignia was also attached using CA glue. I let it cure for a week just to be sure...not a single bubble!

Attachments

• DSC_0119.jpg
    DSC_0119.jpg
    16.1 KB · Views: 505
  • DSC_0120.jpg
    DSC_0120.jpg
    15.2 KB · Views: 503
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

SDB777

Sounds like the 'plan' was executed without any problems...that always make things more fun.

How in the world do you hold a tie-tack in order to sand the thickness down? One slip and there goes some finger thickness:eek:

Well done, and well turned!

Scott (who needs that much finger anyway) B

woodgraver

"How in the world do you hold a tie-tack in order to sand the thickness down? One slip and there goes some finger thickness:eek::