Unknown Spalted Burl on Jr Statesman

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Nate Davey

Nate Davey

This is my second Statesman and I really like this kit. This is another burl from my "free bag o'burls" from a buddy of mine. 3 coats med ca, 6 coats thin ca 12k MM and white diamond buffed.

Pic was taken with my ceiling lights f8, shutter speed 4 seconds.

Comments and critique appreciated.

P.S. Still don't have a good prop yet.

Attachments

• Unk Spalted Burl 01.jpg
    Unk Spalted Burl 01.jpg
    64.6 KB · Views: 273
  • Unk Spalted Burl 03.jpg
    Unk Spalted Burl 03.jpg
    51.6 KB · Views: 228
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

toddlajoie

Pen looks fantastic, I'm far from an expert on woods, but my knee-jerk guess would be spalted maple...

Photo looks very good. Fine tuning suggestions would be to maybe shoot from a little higher angle (raise the camera and shoot down a the pen a bit more...) Second shot looks like it may have a bit of camera movement. With the long shutter speed, are you using a cable release or self timer to eliminate camera shake? Another suggestion would be to get some slightly opaque material (frosted glass, wax paper, tissue paper or such, something SLIGHTLY not clear, not something too opaque) and put it between the pen and the light source. This will soften the shadow you see below the pen and spread the light a bit more around the barrel.

Again, MINOR suggestions, not major criticisms, the shots are really very good.

Nate Davey

Thanks for the photo tips. Typically, there is some natural light coming in from the window to the right of the pic put took this at night. I like the "not clear" filter idea and will find something to use. As for the motion in the second pic, I need to stop being cheap and get a new battery for my remote. Thanks again for the advice.

Nate

Robert Gill