Titanium and Brass Pen (pic heavy)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Tofty

Tofty

Hi all,
This is my first attempt at turning a pen which i think went ok.
The pens diameter is around 14mm and the construction is solid grade 5 titanium with CZ121 brass knurled sleeves and a hardened silver steel glass breaker on the tip.

Pen070P.jpg

Pen080P.jpg

Pen097P.jpg

Pen101P.jpg

Pen125P.jpg

Pen130P.jpg

Pen158P.jpg

Pen176P.jpg

A bit of a departure from some of the more conventional writing instuments i'm sure you'll agree.

Any comments welcome,
Tofty

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

workinforwood

Super awesome pen in my opinion. I could only nit pick that all the little side holes don't line up, but that's really minor. I love the shapes and contrast and decoration, heck, I wouldn't mind if I had to stare at your pen all day long! Welcome to the IAP too!

Tofty

Thanks everyone,
Of course penturning is the pursuit of fuctional and asthetic perfection to satisfy the individual and a thousand artisans will come up with a thousand different interpretations of their own personal perfection. i wasn't attempting to imply my work is uniquely unique, but merely a departure dimensionaly relative to the more accepted proportions of the pen.

Weight wise it is quite heavy as the brass cancels out any savings in weight from using titanium leaving it weighing about the same as a steel pen of the same size. replacing the sleeves with anodised aluminium/magnesium/hard plastic/hard wood or even carbon fibre would make it a much more manageable weight but i really like the colour of the brass....at least for now, but since i haven't lock-tited it all together alterations are still very possible.
Having said all that the weight of it is actually quite reassuring especially in an emergency situation where its impact abilities were needed.