Thuya Burl Victorian Rollerball

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Providentialpens

Hello, everyone,
I bought some Thuya burl from Seth (RolandRanch) and I turned it into a Victorian Rollerball. I'm pretty happy with the burl. It took me about 5 hours to make. I know it shouldn't take that long, but I had to put the CA finish on twice. The first time, I put 15 coats on but I sanded through on the edges of the blank. The second time, I put about 30 - 40 coats of CA and it turned out well. Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
DSCN6732%255B1%255D_clipped_rev_1.jpeg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

That is a very classy pen !!!! . And a great photograph !!

The time it took you is pretty normal for me. . I count on 5 to 6 hours for a pen and even longer for a double barrel pen like this one and I have been making pens for 7 years. . I know that others can do it faster.

Rolandranch

Thanks for posting this Matthew. It turned out really nice! Don't worry, you'll get the hang of CA finish as long as you keep doing it. Your photo also looks great!

Last edited:

Dehn0045

Beautiful pen Matthew! I am finding that the more experience I get, the longer it takes me to make my pens. It took you 5 hours to do something that most people won't do in a life-time, so I'd say you're doing pretty good! Regardless of time spent, you have a great pen there -- and some photography skills that make me jealous. Keep it up!

That is a very classy pen !!!! . And a great photograph !!

The time it took you is pretty normal for me. . I count on 5 to 6 hours for a pen and even longer for a double barrel pen like this one and I have been making pens for 7 years. . I know that others can do it faster.

Thanks!
I'm glad to hear that I'm not the only slow one out there. :biggrin: