Texas Ebony El Grande

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from vick

Status
Not open for further replies.

vick

ALmost did not post it since the turning is plain but I really wanted to show off this wood. This is my first time turning Texas Ebony, I had recieved it in a trade with Billy (Alamocdc) and love it. I had trouble getting a good picture but from a distance it looks dark brown when you get closer their are green and yellow hues in it.

2005101474516_TexasEbony.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Ron Mc

Mike,
Thanks for posting this pen. I've been thinking about using some Texas ebony in some pen design but I just wasn't sure how dark it would be. This gives me a great idea what to expect.
That's an interesting grain pattern on the lower barrel. It almost looks like it "swirls" in the middle.

alamocdc

Okay, so the turning is plain and at first glance the wood might appear to be, but you did a great job on the pen! Fit is dead on and the finish is what I've come to expect with TE. It really polishes well. [:D]

Randy_

OK, I give up. What is Texas Ebony?? Using local names can get very confusing. Sure would be nice if folks would include the scienticic name or at least a name that more folks might recognize when a wood has more than one common name.

Dario

Very nice pen.

It looks very light though and if I remember it right, the ones I gave Billy are almost black.

I still have a lot of it and am guilty of not posting any for sale after my initial query for interest parties.

Randy, Texas Ebony is a "rare" wood that can only be found near the Texas-Mexico border. I got lucky and found a few pieces on my trip there. Scored probably 800 pounds or so of this stuff.

Try this link
http://www.penturners.org/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=8534&SearchTerms=texas,ebony

DCBluesman

Passed Away Mar 3, 2016
In Memoriam
Texas ebony is Pithecellobium flexicaule or Pithecellobium ebano. I don't know if it has any common names other than Texas ebony.

vick