Surprise Inside a Double-Dyed

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Dick Mahany

Dick Mahany

Since I'm new to this, I was curious to turn a double dyed Box Elder Burl to see what it would look like. I didn't expect the inside to be so different from the outside, but here's a picture of the 1/2 of the blank before turning, and the finished pen. Now I know.

Attachments

• IMGP5600.jpg
    IMGP5600.jpg
    44.4 KB · Views: 618
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

its_virgil

So, are you pleased or not? Surprised and happy or surprised and unhappy? I like the double dyed BEB blanks where one of the colors is black. Each one is different.
Do a good turn daily!
Don

Dick Mahany

So, are you pleased or not? Surprised and happy or surprised and unhappy? I like the double dyed BEB blanks where one of the colors is black. Each one is different.
Do a good turn daily!
Don

I was hoping for more of the teal-black, and at first wasn't too fond of the purplish and light wood colorings, but it grew on me and is really a complex mix of colors. I too like the black colors in the double dye patterns and plan to try dying a few on my own very soon.

booney0717

I've been curious about these blanks for a while now but never bought one because the blank just looks ugly. Now that i've seen the results, i'm gonna give em a try. Nice pen.

Dick Mahany

!!

Thanks folks for the comments! Most of you likely knew what I just now realized, but I'd thought that I would share the before and after pic. I guess I need to explore more....................yes ???

Maskman080900

Theres a company "Texas Wood House" does double dyeing. There black really lookd good. They offer colors I haven't seen before. They are at texaswoodhouse.com. Give em a visit if your looking for good looking dyed wood.

joefyffe

Passed Away Aug 19, 2018
In Memoriam