Spiral El Grande FP

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Tom McMillan

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tom McMillan

OK---I've been working on this for awhile. It's the first FP I've made in probably ten years. This is a 2 layer spiral of kingwood and maple.

200525203816_spiralFP%20047.jpg

20052520399_spiralFP%20052.jpg

I put different photos in my album, and dedicated this pen to my Grandfather (was a Business College owner and teacher), who was a connoisseur of fountain pens---and had beautiful handwriting.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Tom McMillan

Thanks guys!! Well, I've been doing quite a few spiral slimlines (making up the blanks until I can afford more kits---kits are on order now)---and Rich K. encouraged me to do some FP's---so, this is my first try since some very early FP's I made a long time ago.

To do this type of pen I first took a blank of kingwood and turned both down to an even dimension just over the busings. Then I drill maple to fit over the kingwood and glue the maple onto the kingwood. Then I lay out the spiral by drawing a straight line along the blank, and lay out how far apart I want my spirals by making a pencil mark. Then I take a thin piece of masking tape and spiral it around the blank and draw a pencil line along it. Then I take a small rasp (bastard file) and cut the spiral by hand---takes a number of times, but I am getting quicker at doing it (practice, practice, practice). Then I sand it with either rolled up sandpaper or sandpaper around a small nail. Then I turn the rest of the pen to the shape I want. On these I use CA as a finish and use a Q-Tip to apply it. I sand the CA, then use EEE Ultra Ultra Shine which works great, and then use Rennaisance Wax and buff it.

PenWorks

Shazam ! Amazing pen Tom. Good things take time. That is a real beauty. Will make some fountain pen lover very happy and a better writer. Great job.

Anthony

G