Something new - Leather Baron

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from jthompson1995

jthompson1995

I've seen some pens made from stacked turned leather but I tried something a little different. I didn't even have to mount this one on the lathe.

A Platinum Baron RB wrapped in soft garment leather. It's not necessarily the first pen to catch your eye, but it feels great to write with.

398A.jpg

398B.jpg

398C.jpg

I can honestly say this is the first pen I've ever sewn together. Sewing by hand took me just as long as turning a pen on the lathe for this first one. I think I can get better with the stitching, but I think it's pretty good for a first time.

Comments, good, bad or otherwise, welcome. Thanks for looking

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JohnU

I like it. Very unique! I know a few guys that work with leather making holster and belts that would be impressed. thanks for sharing.

nava1uni

That is a great pen. I used to be a street artist making handcrafted leather goods. Your stitching is very nice. What thread did you use? What kind of hide did you use?
Very sweet pen.

stolicky

Nice, unique, idea.

I think it would be really cool if you could make it look like a baseball glove; although the stitching may not work. What I am picturing is a lighter leather, kind of like the special version of the Audi TT interior produced a few years back.

handplane

Great looking pen.

The only thing that would make it look better is using a baseball stitch. It might be hard to do that small but would look outstanding.

jthompson1995

That is a great pen. I used to be a street artist making handcrafted leather goods. Your stitching is very nice. What thread did you use? What kind of hide did you use?
Very sweet pen.