Something Different

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Sandsini

Sandsini

I picked up a couple of Rhodium Long Clicker ball point kits with the intent of making a checkbook pen for my lovely wife, Teri. I've never built a Long Clicker before and noticed that the pen could be easily assembled without the clip. Thinking that a checkbook pen doesn't really need a clip, I thought the idea of a roll stopper would be a better, more imaginative solution.

Since Teri loves the beach and all things ocean-related, the roll stopper is a Sterling Silver Mermaid. The blue one is her's and the pink one will go into my inventory.

Cheers,

Attachments

• DSC00701.jpg
    DSC00701.jpg
    101.5 KB · Views: 256
  • DSC00696.jpg
    DSC00696.jpg
    91.4 KB · Views: 170
  • DSC00707.jpg
    DSC00707.jpg
    115 KB · Views: 210
  • DSC00703.jpg
    DSC00703.jpg
    99.8 KB · Views: 171
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

VERY NICE ! . Where did you get the cool mermaids, and how are they glued on ?

BTW, don't you find the rough feel and the clicker noise somewhat distracting ? I dislike that about the long clicker.

Last edited:

Sandsini

VERY NICE ! . Where did you get the cool mermaids, and how are they glued on ?

BTW, don't you find the rough feel and the clicker noise somewhat distracting ? I dislike that about the long clicker.

Mal,
Thanks, I found the mermaids on Etsy. After shaping the mermaid to fit the profile of the pen, I roughed up the surface of the blank as well as the back of the mermaid and used thick CA. It seems to have worked well, but in the future I think I am going to need to silver solder a post on the back of the stopper and drill a hole in the blank to ensure they stay in place.