Some thank you's and my 19th and 20th pens.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from dmetri93

dmetri93

I just wanted to start by giving a shout out to all of you folks for being such a helpful and great community. I'm completely new to turning in general, let alone pen turning, and I've learned so much from these forums and see all the good you all do for each other and it's really inspirational.

I've also been on the receiving end of some of that good, already, and would be HUGELY remiss to not give a HUGE shout out to Michael, user MDWine. Michael came into a lathe from another woodworker who passed away, Mr. Carl Gagliadi. And already having enough machinery decided to give that lathe away. He posted about it here, I inquired, and a few days plus a 5 hour drive later and I had myself a new lathe, plus a bunch of extras (pen kits, wood, some plastics, other project kits). I know I've said it a lot already, Michael, but thank you again, SO much, for your kindness and generosity. And thanks, also, to Carl. May he rest in peace.

I haven't posted any of my other 18 pens on here because I've generally been unhappy with them. I'm something of a perfectionist. Though the engineer in me prefers to call it Quality Standards and Control.

The two I'm posting today, I'm about 90% happy with.

And I'm also posting them because they were the first that I used my new lathe to help make (My grandfather has been a lifelong woodworker, so I've been using his machinery prior).

So without further ado:

The first is a gun metal plated 30.06 bolt action kit (A kit I actually got from Michael, so another shoutout to him there!), with a lovely black walnut that actually came from a tree from my grandfather's childhood home.
20160828_224946.jpg
My only complaint with this pen is I didn't get the tubes quite squared up and there's just the tiniest of protrusions where the wood meets the metal sections.
20160828_224957.jpg
The second pen is a trimline kit with cedar wood.