Some stealth pens

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Dominic Greco

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dominic Greco

Here are (3) of the stealth pens I turned over the weekend.

Starting on the left, the first is Lacewood. The second is lacewood with malachite inlays (and no comfort grip). The second is figured walnut.

If you notice, the cap on the first (2) are longer than that of the 3rd one. That's what not having the brains to look for the directions on PSI's website will get ya'! :>) Other than looking a bit top heavy, then pens is still balance enough to use comfortably.

The pens were sanded to 12000 (using micro mesh). Finish consists of Hut wax (dark, then light), followed by Mylands Friction Polish.

My wife has snagged the 1st pen as hers. No worry here. I'm hoping that when her fellow teachers see the pen, I'll get some orders out out it. (It worked with some confetti lights!):D

Comments and critiques are welcomed. (Especially since I'm a beginner and know hardly anything about pen turning).

Image Insert:
20047210433_dg_pens1.jpg

81.49KB

See ya around,
Dominic

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Doghouse

Very nice. I love the look of figured walnut. Just picked up a bunch of it. Please give your inlay method. I am trying to do some inlay on wormy chestnut and it is not coming out as nice.

Doghouse

I have the same Q. It looks exactly like the Designer, w/o a stepped bit for the smaller tip. Bet it is just the name of the kit. I would not doubt if it is the same manuf. who makes the patriot.

Dominic Greco

Thank you the compliments about the pens!

The Stealth Pen Kit is from <b>Penn State Industries</b>. I didn't see the Stealth kit mentioned on the website, but I was able to get the directions for it's assembly from there.
http://www.penstateind.com

<b>Packard Woodworks</b> also sells the Stealth Kit. But I believe they get theirs from PSI.