Some Panache and Electra Pens

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from aggromere

aggromere

I have never built a Panache or an Electra before and just wanted to get the kits out of my inventory and try something different than I usually do.

The Panache Pens were fun to make, but I don't think I particularly like the design. Not sure what someone would do with one. I did them all from Amboyna with cigar bands and a lot of coats of CA. I had some issues turning them, I believe the bushings were not properly sized and didn't adjust for that until after a couple of pens. You can see on some the big end is shy of the end cap. One of them the nib end is difficult to remove from the cap. It catches on something. I might have done something wrong in assembling it thus the problem, but only on one.

The electra looks very nice and I think has some potential. However, the nylon threaded insert in the cap seems like something that will get cross threaded very easily and ruin the pen. So I'm not sure I want to put them in the hands of customers. It was also impossible (at least for me) to line up the clip with the cigar label while closed and while writing. Had to pick one or the other. I think the threads are multiple start, maybe triple but I could be wrong.

Anyone one have any thoughts on these kits, particularly the Electra. Am I wrong about the potential cross threading, or has everyone had good luck with them.

Oh, and I have been prowling ebay purchasing lots of antique or vintage cigar bands. All of these pens have those rather than contemporary bands.

I posted a few pictures.

Attachments

• IMG_0124.JPG
    IMG_0124.JPG
    126 KB · Views: 244
  • IMG_0124-crop.jpg
    IMG_0124-crop.jpg
    70.1 KB · Views: 203
  • IMG_0128-crop.JPG
    IMG_0128-crop.JPG
    96.8 KB · Views: 168
Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

workinforwood