Slimline

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from bbuis

bbuis

So I did this aqua slimline and what better color to put with it than copper. There are places it looks like the tube is showing through but overall I think a good pen. Live and learn right?

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

snyiper

Actually painting the inside of the blank before gluing in tube is suppose to work better. Ive done both and had em work.

bbuis

I actually bought this one already drilled and tubed. Bought 2 for my first acrylics. The other was a cigar and dark color nothing showed through. This one it just does in spots where the acrylic is lighter.

Reece

why is there a difference in painting the tube or the inside of the blank??
i was just wondering because i am fairly new at penturning.

thanks,
tom

when you paint the tube, you might still be able to see air bubbles in the glue or other inperfections. if you paint the inside of the blank it should mean that you can't see these as the paint goes over the glue

that's my understanding of it anyway.

kevrob

Ok, another newbie question. Do you just use a regular paint or will another product give you a better finished look? I only asked because I saw a video today on YouTube about turning shredded money blanks and if I recall the person used some special paint....

Tanner

I just use testers model car paint. Spray a little in a leftover baggie and dip a cheap little kids paint brush in it. I think they come in a pack of 20 or more.

Stick Rounder

Ok, another newbie question. Do you just use a regular paint or will another product give you a better finished look? I only asked because I saw a video today on YouTube about turning shredded money blanks and if I recall the person used some special paint....