Sharpie

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from biednick

biednick

I saw the sharpie refills at staples and bought a few. This is my first attempt, done with a cherry dowel. Clip is made by me out of spring steel. I'll make a tutorial, but basically I mounted the blank in a collet chuck drilled to a set depth and turned without removing it from the chuck. I went too close to the hole on the cap, so its filled with a walnut dowel. Comments, questions and criticisms welcome.

Attachments

• IMG_0459 (640x480).jpg
    IMG_0459 (640x480).jpg
    143 KB · Views: 240
  • IMG_0460 (640x480).jpg
    IMG_0460 (640x480).jpg
    139.4 KB · Views: 222
  • IMG_0461 (640x480).jpg
    IMG_0461 (640x480).jpg
    141.8 KB · Views: 174
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

seamus7227

Im not one to comment on this subject since it is my downfall as well, but I personally dont like the clip. It appears as though you did a fantastic job on the rest of the pen but the clip leaves something to be desired. With that being said, I realize you have to learn somehow, but for this particular pen, you could have left if off and it still would have been great! It is also only my opinion that if you are going to attempt your own clip, appearance wise, it would look so much better if you had it going into two openings instead of looking crammed into one. Again, this is only my opinion and less than .02 worth(since the stock market crashed). Dont let this prevent you continuing your attempt at clips.

IPD_Mrs