Semi Kitless w/ Triple Start Tap and Die

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from bluwolf

bluwolf

My first picture post. Yes, my photography leaves much to be desired. One thing at a time. Like many others I got my triple start tap and die from the group buy (Thanks again Joe).

It's my first try with it but it didn't come out too bad so I figured I'd post it, right? I fitted it with both a rollerball and fountain pen nib because I couldn't decide which one I liked better.

Mike

Attachments

• ts5.jpg
    ts5.jpg
    62.1 KB · Views: 452
  • tsfp.jpg
    tsfp.jpg
    71.5 KB · Views: 491
  • ts1.jpg
    ts1.jpg
    70.6 KB · Views: 351
  • tsfp2.jpg
    tsfp2.jpg
    64.6 KB · Views: 438

mredburn

IAP Activities Manager
Staff member
Nice job Mike I like the rollerball look but the Fountain pen is my favorite. Your pictures arent that bad..

Last edited:

mredburn

IAP Activities Manager
Staff member
A quick dance with Picasa3

Attachments

• roux fountain pen.jpg
    roux fountain pen.jpg
    3.9 KB · Views: 672
Last edited:

bluwolf

Cool! Now we know the tap and die work!

Nice pen! What's the material?

- Joe

The tap and die worked very well Joe. I expected more drama on the first go around. It was a slab about .700 thick that I've had around for longer than forever. I ripped off a piece on the tablesaw then turned it into a rod to get me started. I'm really not sure but I think it was called Crushed Velvet. I don't have a clue where I got it. I think it was given to me.

I know and use tap and dies. But what is a Triple tap and die? Not familiar with it. Enlighten please. Russ

Triple start threads are what are on all the high end pens, to couple the cap and barrel. There are 3 starts on them instead of the single start of a normal tap and die. It gives you a fine thread with a steeper pitch so it takes less turns to screw the two parts together. I'm sure someone else can explain it better than me.

Mike

bluwolf

A quick dance with Picasa3