segmented Little havannah modified

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Glenn McCullough

This is the second pen I have made for a gentleman in Singapore, who after seeing the one I made for wdcav1952 in the summer PITH, wanted one like it. It is a Little havannahmodified to hold a pump and sports a 24k gold nib from Anthony. The body is segments of acrylic, guitar pick material, box elder and amboyna burls. The acrylic really "lights up" and I will order more of it soon.

Attachments

• Yong - Copy.JPG
    Yong - Copy.JPG
    48.1 KB · Views: 337
  • Yong open (2).JPG
    Yong open (2).JPG
    71.2 KB · Views: 319
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

PaulDoug

Not sure what the right word is... Awesome does pretty good. I'm just beginning to play around with segmenting and I can already appreciate the work and craftsmanship that goes into a pen like that.

avbill

review

I take many of the IAP members pens and analysis them to the nth degree. There are many elements that make or break the beauty of a pen. Studying both the best and the worst in detail with help you in furthering you in the design elements in pen making.

There a lot to be said about the above pen. The is that whoa factor, the design factor the balance factor. It craftsmanship, the finish and I possible left one or more out. So these are my comments

1st its has a whoa! Factor. But after your first view it and you start to review the pen's elements the question Arises Has the maker gone to far in design? The pen's elements / design are very busy. Does that element in design devalue the finial outlook? It does carry a geometric style—creating a contemporary feel. The designer loses the element of balance then they introduced the amboyna burls to the pen's body. Whether closed or open the pen looks off balanced. The perception of balance is a major factor in design.