Seems this is the new rave

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from bmac

bmac

Well, it seems that decals open up unlimited options for pens. This is my first attempt
using decals. It makes a nice looking pen, but there is a slight learning curve. The kit is an Atlas and the wood is stabilized birds eye maple. It has about 10 coats of CA for the finish, then beall buffed. I think I will be making other pens using decals.

Bobby
Louisiana

Attachments

• DSCN0426.jpg
    DSCN0426.jpg
    40.8 KB · Views: 285
  • DSCN0427.jpg
    DSCN0427.jpg
    53.1 KB · Views: 343
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Padre

You put the decal directly on the finished wood and then ca'd it?

What kind of decal and paper?

Looks great.

bmac

Thanks for the comments, they are appreciated.
Padre, I used Testors decal paper from Hobby Lobby and followed their
instructions. Then just applied CA over the decal to seal it. I applied
about 10 coats which is probably overkill, but it should hold up to
daily use.

Bobby
Louisiana

Bobalu

Padre, I used Testors decal paper from Hobby Lobby and followed their
instructions.

I've looked for it in Hobby Lobby but had no luck finding it. Maybe I'm not looking in the right place or asking the right associate. Do you recall what department you found it in?

robutacion

Well, it seems that decals open up unlimited options for pens. This is my first attempt
using decals. It makes a nice looking pen, but there is a slight learning curve. The kit is an Atlas and the wood is stabilized birds eye maple. It has about 10 coats of CA for the finish, then beall buffed. I think I will be making other pens using decals.

Bobby
Louisiana