Right Idea - Poor Execution

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from MartinPens

MartinPens

This is my first time working with metal. It would have turned out if I had gotten the layers on straight. Oh well, it was a learning experience.

Martin

Attachments

• untitled-8989-1.jpg
    untitled-8989-1.jpg
    236.4 KB · Views: 554
  • untitled-8990-2.jpg
    untitled-8990-2.jpg
    250.8 KB · Views: 336
  • untitled-8991-3.jpg
    untitled-8991-3.jpg
    288.3 KB · Views: 322
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ctubbs

Hey, if you don't like it, I'll be glad to pm you my address. That is a pretty impressive pen, especially for a first try. That is what we call tolerance stacking. All the slightly thick sides ended up on the same side.
Charles

jaeger

I think you cut the acrylic with a saw. If I am right, next time round off the blanks on the lathe and cut on the lathe.

turningfish

Looks nice. Good ideas there. It wasn't a mistake . It was a learning experince that turned out pretty darned good.
Those colores look great together.
Fish

Last edited:

workinforwood

I see that last piece of yellow, looks like maybe a piece of dirt got in the joint..glue too thick, not clamped right there..somethings up in just that one spot. I don't blame you for not being satisfied with that..I'm the same way. I've tossed out thousands of hours of labor I'm sure. But...like everyone says...you live and learn, examine the mistakes and move forward.

Carrick

I can see what you are talking about with it just being out of the perimeters you set. But, it did take me a moment to notice. Looks like a fine daily driver for a while. Good Luck on the next one.

MartinPens