Red Oak Salvaged From a Pallet

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from silent soundly

I am new to this hobby and this is my first post. I believe this is red oak, but please correct me if I'm wrong. I found a pallet made with some interesting wood. It had soft pine running across the top and three pieces of hard oak as the runners, about 2" x 4". I cut about a dozen 3/4" x 5" pen blanks from this burled? area it and here are some of my creations.

I just fount IAP yesterday and am absolutely floored by some of the creations that I have seen here. My work is hardly worthy to be here, but I had to share this awesome free wood with you guys and gals.

Attachments

• IMG_7634.jpg
    IMG_7634.jpg
    61.3 KB · Views: 225
  • IMG_7635.jpg
    IMG_7635.jpg
    65.6 KB · Views: 201
  • 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    214.2 KB · Views: 220
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    131.1 KB · Views: 237
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    201.4 KB · Views: 181
  • IMG_7666.jpg
    IMG_7666.jpg
    128.8 KB · Views: 182
  • IMG_7702.jpg
    IMG_7702.jpg
    131.9 KB · Views: 172
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
Welcome to IAP Nick!

Check out the library if you haven't yet, and try the search function for any initial questions.

Have FUN!

JD Combs Sr

Welcome aboard Nick, as already mentioned the IAP has a great library as well as wiki. both have some great info. Those are some good looking pens. I know you said you were new to this hobby but how long you been turning pens, those don't look like a beginner?

stonepecker

Hello From Central Minnesota.

Great find on free wood. Keep it up and feel free to post your work anytime.
Beginners to experts are all welcomed here.