Red Oak Burl Cigar Pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Ron in Drums PA

Status
Not open for further replies.
Here is my latest pen made from some scrap I couldn't part with. Before I started turning and when ever I found an unusual piece of wood I would chuck into a bin. At the time I was planning on making a box lid form this.

2005420134942_Red%20Oak%20Burl%20Cigar%20Pen%20-s-.jpg

The wood was cut on a diagonal, and if you look closely you will notice a dark spot. That is where the wood blew out when I was drilling. I patched it up with my favorite filler, coffee grounds. In life it looks like a bark inclusion.

The finish is Waterlox applied with a paper pad on the lathe while is it spinning, I crank up the speed until and press hard until I see smoke. In about an hour it is dry to the touch. The following day I applied medium CA glue, buffed and waxed.

Since I'm new to turning pens I'm curious as to what others feel about fixing a blowout like this. I have a thick skin so I don't mind criticism.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ilikewood

What's not to like? Looks nice to me.

If you have enough length on some of these hard to drill woods, make your blank a bit longer. I cut to nearly exact size AFTER I drill. It only has to be 1/4" longer and you can really save yourself some headaches.

low_48

Ron, There is usually more than enough length to go ahead and use a pen mill, or sander, to machine off a little chip like that on the end. (At least half of it anyway). Your save was very good and has the look of a bark inclusion. I might have added some sawdust to it to change the shade a little lighter, but I think it was a great save. I didn't see it till I read down your description, nice work.

Rich

JimGo