Polymer Burls. (long)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from el_d

el_d

A few weeks ago my wife went out and got me some Skulpey PC at Hobby Lobby. Toni was kind enough to let me know that Skulpey was a PIA to work with, so since I didnt have the reciept I decided to use it anyway and try making a blank from it last weekend.
Kneaded the clays and crushed the two colors together and made a blank a little under 3/4x5. I noticed the "kneading" of the clay is important to help soften it up and make it meld together. The "Polymer Burl" was baked in the toaster oven(as per instructions on the side of the PC wrapper)and let cool. The blank came out of the oven a little soft, I could put my fingernail into it and pull out a small piece, but after it cooled for a while it got a little harder, I could still put my fingernail in it but had a smaller piece chip off. Im not sure if that normal or not , I have never worked with the clay before so I wasnt sure what to expect.
I got a little excited with the results and decided to start processing it like a regular blank Within about 4-5 hours. Drilled, tubed with Sumo glue and mounted on the lathe.
My PC Blank turned like dry butter, a little powdery but very easy to cut. At some point during the cutting I started to get long ribbons of the PC untill I came to my final dimensions. Wasnt sure how it would hold up as a pen, It was still a little soft after the fingernail test, but it was a bit harder than what I started with. I figuered I would use it as a show piece at the house and let my wife use it at her desk to see how it would hold up. Used 4 coats of med CA to stiffen it up some, sanded, polished, and put it together. After the CA it was very hard, no fingernail abuse anymore, and feels as solid as one of my wood pens.