Polyester and aluminium

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from ericofpendom

ericofpendom

Here is a Sierra kit with one of my custom colour polyester resin pen blanks segmented with a computer HDD platter. Just the right thickness of aluminium I think. Thanks for looking, hope you like it. C&C's welcome.
Eric...

Attachments

• IMG_2124.jpg
    IMG_2124.jpg
    184 KB · Views: 308
  • IMG_2147.jpg
    IMG_2147.jpg
    177.9 KB · Views: 357
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

Nice !! . Have you tried cutting "washers" out of the HDD platter using a hole saw ?

Last edited:

ericofpendom

Nice !! . Have you tried cutting "washers" out of the HDD platter using a hole saw ?

Thanks. No but I am going to do something to make it less wasteful. I need to create a jig to drill and cut them out as easily as possible. This is my first attempt so I will keep developing. Your holesaw suggestion is a good one.
Thanks for sharing.
Eric...

leehljp

Member Liaison
Well done! I love the spacing, very eye appealing! Love it!

I have done mostly brass in the past, but they are hard to make. I took a sheet of brass .5mm and placed between two pieces of 1/2 inch plywood, screwed the edges of the ply together and then drilled holes on a grid. After that, I unscrewed the plywood, took the brass sheet out and cut the brass. It warped the brass for sure, but I would then put the cut out pieces on an anvil and tap them with a hammer to flatten. Worked well. I haven't done segments in a while and your pen is certainly is nice, makes me want to make one, or two or three!

Last edited:

ericofpendom

Well done! I love the spacing, very eye appealing! Love it!