Pine cone pens

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from meacht

meacht

This is my first time posting. Here are some pens made from pine cones I picked up in northern Saskatchewan. Any criticism is welcomed and will be taken as constructive.

Thanks,
Terry

Attachments

• Pinecone (1).JPG
    Pinecone (1).JPG
    73 KB · Views: 340
  • Pinecone (2).JPG
    Pinecone (2).JPG
    77.3 KB · Views: 281
  • Pinecone (3).JPG
    Pinecone (3).JPG
    77.1 KB · Views: 215
  • Pinecone (4).JPG
    Pinecone (4).JPG
    63.1 KB · Views: 209
  • Pinecone (5).JPG
    Pinecone (5).JPG
    74.8 KB · Views: 257
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

S.A.Mappin

I really like the natural designs in those pens, very pretty. I think the pine cone pens are the ones that receive the most attention, whenever I have them in my assortment.

Nicely done!!

Kicker

Those are very nice, I tried to do one and it blew up, what is the best way to prepare and do them?

Thanks,

David :confused:

meacht

Blank preparation

I use a bandsaw to cut relatively straight sections of the cone. I find that, typically, it takes 3 cones for each half of the pen. The I take each piece, seal one end it with CA and a shot of accelerator, turn it over and fill it with thin CA. Let it sit overnight, sand each end flat with a belt sander and, with thick CA, glue enough together for one tube and clamp.

Hope that helps.

Terry

glycerine

I like the way you segmented them instead of just drilling down the center and turning. I don't believe I have seen any done like that before...

ctubbs

Those segmented cones are very neat. I believe that is the first time I've seen them done like that. It gives a very interesting look to an otherwise beautiful pen. Congratulations.
Charles

Drstrangefart