Phoenix Pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from jwoodwright

jwoodwright

Finally decided to try another pen. Want something special to give as gifts. Arthritis was behaving, so here it is: Gold Phoenix with Corian. The Corian has gold color flowing through it. Was happy to get this variety.

Attachments

• Phoenix.jpg
    Phoenix.jpg
    69.2 KB · Views: 334
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

t001xa22

John, your pen looks great. I haven't made a Phoenix yet, but I sure like its profile and construction. So, how is Corian to turn? Haven't tried that yet either.

RogerH

Hey Bill- you asked: "So, how is Corian to turn? Haven't tried that yet either. "

I am no expert, but from the half dozen I have done, I LOVE corian. I find it much easier to turn/sand/polish than tru-stone, and I think it gives a similarly classy appearance.

There is a member on this site that has the word corian in his name, and I therefore assume that he probably has vast experience with it. I think he would be the "expert" you are looking for.

Roger

P.S. to John: gorgeous work-beautifu pen.

t001xa22

Roger, thank you for the info. I think I will give this stuff a try. It really looks interesting and is such a beautiful material.

keithlong

Hey Bill,
I have turned several pieces of corian and it is fun to turn, polishes real nice, even great for laminatinh. Just be sure to have sharp tools. OH! and nice pen. How do you like that kit?

jwoodwright

Turning Corian

Bill,
I'm no expert. I have used Corian since 1998 when I started pen making. Sharp tools are a must. If you get ribbons, you're "in the groove". Anything else and it's like a scraper and getting tiny junk and chip out. I've grown to like a skew and it does great. A very sharp spindle gouge, using the lower cutting edge is also great.